Tags

, , , ,

thought you’d like to know the New Zealand version of the song: “12 days of Christmas

On the twelfth day of Christmas
My true love gave to me:

Twelve piupius swinging
Eleven haka lessons
Ten juicy fish heads
Nine sacks of pipis
Eight plants of puha
Seven eels a swimming
Six pois a twirling
Five – big – fat – pigs !
Four huhu grubs
Three flax kits
Two kumera
And a pukeko in a ponga tree.

Now I was going to search the internet for pictures to go with it but found out someone else has done a very similar post so off you go to check it out….  Its with pictures its fab!

http://www.netdreamers.com/KiwiMonsta/12_days_xmas.htm
this also includes the 12 days of Christmas Australian version – Fun!!

My aim this year is to get the kids to make something from the NZ version every days 12 days before Christmas……
a. Keeps them occupied during the holidays
b. Teaches them and me about Maori things
c. We spend time together creating and not having “I’m bored” or “whens Christmas?” routine. They can look forward to doing something.

have a great day

 

