Tags

,

Hi everyone…..
For ages I’ve been looking at and wondering about steam punk.
I also have been a fan of Tim Holtz techniques for a while….. these are very closely related – as far as I can tell.

As you could also tell I’m a beginner Steam Punker. (If there is such a thing).

So to know steam punk you need to know what it is right?
Wikipedia says….

Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction, alternate history, and speculative fiction that came into prominence during the 1980s and early 1990s.Specifically, steampunk involves an era or world where steam power is still widely used—usually the 19th century and often Victorian era Britain—that incorporates prominent elements of either science fiction or fantasy. Works of steampunk often feature anachronistic technology or futuristic innovations as Victorians may have envisioned them; in other words, based on a Victorian perspective on fashion, culture, architectural style, art, etc. This technology may include such fictional machines as those found in the works of H. G. Wells and Jules Verne or real technologies like the computer but developed earlier in an alternate history.

Ok I also have had a look all around to know what elements in Scrapbook/Cardmaking steam punk has…..

  • Clock parts
  • Metal foundings – not painted
  • The colour brown or sepia tones
  • 1920’s – 1950’s type images - ooops correction should have read 1800’s instead
  • mechanical and steam machine type images
  • Hinges etc
  • I know there is more….

Now don’t take me as a professional on this subject – I’m not. Just starting out so here is my first offical Steam Punk card…. and my process….

I gathered my basic supplies that looked or resembled Steam Punk:

  • Tim Holtz – grunge board swirls elements
  • Cuttlebug – clockworks embossing folder
  • Inque Boutique – antique images (bought this about 2007-8 ish)
  • Prima clear stamp – Botanical 544928

Here is what I first came up with…

I added some brown ink over the light blue card-stock when embossed and the raw edge of some canvas.The stamped panel I used 4 stamps with black archival ink and sponged brown ink over that lightly…..

Something didn’t quite finish it off here so I sorted through my stash and found some “findings”

twine, a key, and a metal brad “thanks” did it!


see how finished it now looks?

Well my first Steam Punk journey finished. How did you think I did?

